HAIL TO THE… QUAKER OATS MAN!

I know I´m like… a week late… but better late than never! (which the Nicaraguense don´t believe… if they´re late, they won´t go.. and they are always late… so nobody ever shows up for ANYTHING!

This this new years (or around the day) we were blessed with an EARTHQUAKE! Ok. little less. Nothing really, but it really startled my companion. I woke up to my bed shaking, and the mirror clattering against the wall, and just LEAPS out of bed to turn on the light to tell me it´s trembling… (is that a word in English? I´m doing my best to translate…) anyways. It passed quickly, but she was pretty shaken up (haha. Because it was an earthquake…) I was so tired though. I tried to act a little less calm (to make her feel like she wasn´t the only one) , but I wasn´t freaked out AT ALL. So I just went back to sleep.

Anyways. I hit a few bucket list items this week! I contacted a house where a lady lives, who´s 103 years old! And later we were told that she wasn´t the oldest in the neighborhood. That somebody who lives there is 113 YEARS OLD! I about died. Apparently he says it´s because he watches the moon… like when there is a new moon we should´t bathe, or cut our hair or nails or anything. And when there is a full moon we should cut our hair, and shave, and take like an hour long shower. I don´t know… but he is 113 years old, maybe he´s on to something…
Another bucket list moment, I NAMED A BABY! There is a less active that we met, who has a baby just about a month old. But still hasn´t named it. So we´ve been giving ideas. I told her “Kylie!” and she liked it, but it just wasn´t exactly what she wanted… so I just started giving all the names from our family.. and guess who won!?… CASEY! So yes. My dear brother. There is a little girl in Nicaragua named after you. You should feel so proud!
A few pictures. WE FINALLY HAD A BABTISM! Her name is Ana Maria, she is 16 yrs old, and lives with her baby (who´s 13 months old) next door to her Sister. She is awesome. We´re also teachig her… Dad? But it´s not her dad, just the random non relative who raised her… anyways. So we´re happy for her babtism!
Also, pray for this week, we have a Man named Raul, He´s blind, and just kinda… showed up at the church alone one Sunday. But he´s excited for his babtism this Saturday! Wahoo!
And also.. I don´t know if you guys know… but José Smith, is secretly the man from Quaker oats… naw. But some guys were shouting in the streets the other day how we worship the Quaker oats man… And then we found this in the land lady´s house… we couldn´t resist!
Leave a Reply

