Me gusta esta Chelita! Ella va a ser mi esposa!” -Some man in the street (aka future husband)

Apart from loving comments from old men in the streets, this weeks has been pretty good. We`ve been told that there are sloths in the central park here, so we have been on the look out for them all this week too. (and I just thank my lucky stars they haven`t pooed on me yet) So yeah. I`m pretty excited to see a “Perisoso” (which also means Lazy… pretty great this language)

So I got your package of letters today! I loved all the wonderful pictures from the kids, and the letters from the adults (y entonces, why didn`t the adults draw me pictures too??) But yeah. and I LOVED the crazy picture of our family. I put it in a frame, and it`s on my desk right now. Loved it (but it is missing Kaleb and Steven and Delilah)

So there is a BOM challenge? When am I supposed to finish it? I`m going to read it in Spanish! Wahoo! I`ve gotten to Mosiah and haven`t gotten too lost yet. Hopefully I`ll be able to make it through.

So I don`t know if I`ve told you guys yet, but I am officially a NICA! WAHOO! Got my “green card” and everything. YESSSSSS.

So we went to a lesson the other day, with this really awesome Old guy, who understands a lot… and the lesson turned into the neighborhood gathering with like 100 people! (ok not really. only like 10, but it feels like a lot when they`re all old and looking right at you… and making comments to your companion about how Chela`s can`t speak Spanish… “I`m right here you know!”) But anyways. Was really interesting. all have really different religious beliefs, and like to argue, but was pretty entertaining. They all argue with love. But something pretty cool, was when we talked… there was authority. Pretty great.

But for the end, we asked him to pray, but instead he told his ex-wife to pray… and boy… did she have a pray. Super active in an envangelico (I don`t even know how to say this in English) church…and boy… super exciting. We all stood up, she gave a brief synopsis of what her prayer was going to be about. And then she begun. Screaming. Touching people. Asking for forgiveness for basically breathing… and by the end people were crying, and me and Aguilar were trying not to laugh out loud. Super interesting how other churches are. With a slight fear of God, and what feels like pretended love. All about the grand show. Idk… something to think about.

Just living the dream here in paradise. It`s weird, I know the living conditions are different (and I`m talking in another language) but it doesn`t feel too weird. (except when it does… but that`s another story)

I love you all!DSC03440 DSC03443
Leave a Reply

